Life Updates

I haven’t written as many posts because things have sort of been up in the air. Things are still not completely settled, but I have found a sublet for October-December.

Cue applause.

Anyway, it’s sharing a studio in Manhattan, but it’s cute despite being tiny, and it’s a decent price for the city. Mostly I’m just excited to be able to be in NYC while I job hunt, and hopefully I can get a decent part time thing while I’m there. Plus, speaking to that soul-strengthening social life I’ve written about, being in the city gives me a chance to see friends and have a real life outside of the job search.

The other half of my current struggles is, as always, the job hunt itself. It’s hard, and it often feels like running on a treadmill. Or more like a hamster on a wheel. A lot of work but going nowhere. And I know that I’m not the only person in this situation. People are constantly telling me, “oh, I know so many people where you are right now!” “So-and-so looked for a job for 2 months.” “So-and-so looked for 4 months.” “So-and-so looked for 6 months.” “I won’t even tell you how long so-and-so looked.”

And yes, it is nice to hear that I’m not alone. That it’s not that I’m doing it wrong or that I’m doom to be unemployed. It’s a tough economy and a tough job market and it’s hard for everyone.

But on the flip side, it’s not completely comforting to hear that other people are in the same boat as me. I’m not sure the people on the Titanic looked around and thought, “well, at least I’m not alone on this boat.” It stinks no matter what, whether someone else is with you or you’re alone.

It’s only been 6 weeks, though. I’m nowhere near giving up, thus the 3 month housing commitment. I’m still in this, this weird post-grad New York adventure. It’s a lot harder than I thought it would be, but that in itself isn’t a surprise. I guess the real surprise is how, even though it’s been so hard and disheartening, I’m still 100% committed. It’s nice when self-confidence is buoyed by actual real-world determination. I knew I could do this in theory, but it’s validating to persevere in practice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

